Student Awards


The Departmental Citation is an award recognizing undergraduate excellence in the UC Berkeley Gender and Women’s Studies Department. Each year we select one graduating senior to receive this award for his/her outstanding accomplishments in GWS. A faculty committee reviews the materials of students who meet the following criteria:

1) Officially graduating in Spring or Summer of the current year, or who have finished their degree in Summer or Fall of the prior year and haven’t previously applied;

2) Students are awarded the citation on the basis of scholarship with the criteria of an overall 3.5 GPA or higher and a 3.8 major GPA. The GPA includes the prerequisite courses taken for the major. All seniors can qualify to be considered for the departmental citation. When determining their selection, the faculty committee takes into consideration the overall GWS record and activities of qualified students, but also focuses particular attention on the student’s GWS research or project.

2016-2017 Winner:

  • Cassie Davis

2013-2014 Winner:

  • Alicia Arman

2010-2011 Winner:

  • Jessica Neasbitt

Departmental Honors in Gender and Women’s Studies is awarded to students who have completed GWS 195 and H195, the GWS Senior Honors Program. To receive honors in Gender and Women’s Studies students must complete a Senior Honors Thesis in this class with a minimum grade of A- and have maintained a 3.3 overall GPA and a 3.5 GPA in the major. At the GWS Commencement ceremony honor students will be awarded a gold honor cord(provided by the department) and the title of their Honors Thesis will be read as they receive their scroll. The level of honors achieved – Honors, High Honors, or Highest Honors – is determined after graduation, and will be noted on the student’s diploma and final transcript. For further information, click here.

2013-2014 Awardees:

  • Alicia Arman
  • Laura Elizabeth Fryer
  • Avery Marguerite Heine
  • Mary Cecilia Susman

2010-2011 Awardees:

  • Lena Patricia Brooks
  • Jesse Alice Brown
  • Pooja Chaudhuri
  • Marco Antonio Flores
  • Rebecca Lynne Huff
  • Malia Lee Hunt
  • Jenny Lisette Morales
  • Jessica Yvonne Neasbitt
  • Sani Montclair Vanderspek
  • Sierra Dullea Weir

The Department Honors Thesis Prize is given to the student who has demonstrated excellence in research and writing of the Honors Thesis.  The instructor of the Honors Thesis class will recommend the student to the faculty committee.

2016-2017 Winner:

  • Madison Needham

2013-2014 Winner:

  • Laura Fryer

2010-2011 Winner:

  • Jesse Brown

The Department Excellence in Action Award is given to the student who has demonstrated academic excellence and a commitment to community service.  The faculty and staff will make recommendations to the faculty committee and the committee will review and select the student from the recommended candidates.

2016-2017 Winner:

  • Zachary Harris

2013-2014 Winner:

  • Mary Susman

2010-2011 Winner:

  • Darlene Aranda

The College of Letters & Sciences awards Distinction, High Distinction, and Highest Distinction in general scholarship(comparable to Cum Laude, Magna Cum Laude, and Summa Cum Laude, although UC Berkeley does not use the Latin terminology). These distinctions are based on overall GPA. Please click here for more information.